• English

The Samurai Challenge

12 April – 5 May 2017

The first competitive UK-organised rally ever to visit Japan
Jaguar MkIV square

Latest News

Rally Round’s Samurai Challenge is the first UK-organised competitive rally ever to visit Japan, simultaneously ancient and futuristic and surely one of the most fascinating countries on Earth. Following the Spring flowering of the iconic cherry blossom (sakura), crews will compete in a series of regularity sections and special tests along a spectacular route of 4,660km (2,896 miles) from Fukuoka in the south to Lake Toya in the north. In keeping with our established philosophy, the 23-day event will run to a relaxed schedule, with relatively short daily driving distances so that crews may fully enjoy an amazing variety of natural, man-made and cultural treasures, from primeval landscapes and brooding volcanoes to the brilliant, neon-lit metropolis of Toyko and the island home of the Kodo Drummers.

All but one of the Day 13 regularity sections were reluctantly cancelled due to roadworks and heavy traffic – we even had snow – so the rally arrived early at its night halt on the south coast, overlooking Saruga Bay with a fabulous view of Mount Fuji. The day’s reduced competition means the top of the leaderboard has not changed dramatically – the Aaldering Alvis, Haslam Jaguar and Halter/Engelhardt Ford still occupy the first three places, but as predicted the Woien/Hansen Alvis has continued to edge its way back into contention, moving up into fifth. We must also pay tribute to David and Julia Harrison in their Porsche 356A, aka Molly, who have clawed their way up from 21st to 10th overall, and to rally novices Shaun and Eleanor Dixon, who have very quickly picked up the principles of rally timing and now lie 17th overall in their 1965 Mercedes-Benz 230 SL. Tomorrow the rally motors on to Tokyo, where crews will enjoy a well-deserved rest day, although we expect it to be anything but restful! As ever you may follow the adventure via our event blog and detailed results page – accessed via the buttons below – and you can monitor the progress of each car via our live GPS vehicle tracker, which incorporates a route overview. We’re also delighted to bring you the latest video footage of the event, which you can watch by clicking on the link below.

Rally Round Samurai Challenge 2017


Entry List

Entries are classified as Vintage, Classic or Special

NoDriverCo-DriverCar (Class)Engine cc
1Cornelis Willemse (NLD)Ingeborg Van t' Hof (NLD)1925 Chrysler B-70 Phaeton (V)3294
2Chris Lunn (GBR)Christopher Myers (GBR)1929 Bentley 4.5 (V)4398
3Engelbertus Kersten (NLD)Franklin Soree (NLD)1931 Bentley 8.0 (V)7983
4Jose Romao de Sousa (PRT)Maria Romao de Sousa (PRT)1932 Alvis Speed 20 SA (V)2511
5Martin Egli (CHE)Anne Egli (CHE)1933 Lagonda M45 (V)4453
6Jan Dingemans (BEL)Marleen Dingemans (BEL)1933 Lagonda M45 (V)4467
7Geoff Rawlings (GBR)Penny Rawlings (GBR)1934 Talbot AV95/105 (V)2995
8Jan Woien (NOR)Jan Erik Hansen (NOR)1935 Alvis Speed 20 (V)3571
9Adrian Shooter (GBR)Barbara Shooter (GBR)1935 Ford V8 Coupe (V)3622
10Herman de Jong (NLD)Vera de Jong (NLD)1935 Bentley Derby Tourer (V)3669
11Martinus Aaldering (NLD)Josephina Aaldering-Freriks (NLD)1936 Alvis Speed 25 (V)3571
12Xavier del Marmol (BEL)Ines Bodmer (CHE)1937 Chevrolet Master DeLuxe (V)4000
14Paddy Walker (GBR)Peter Dennis (GBR) / Scott Greenhalgh (GBR) / Richard Cunningham (GBR)1937 Buick Coupe (V)4000
15Jean Steinhauser (LUX)Anne Steinhauser (LUX)1937 Bentley Derby Open Tourer (V)4410
16Michael McInerney (GBR)Eunice McInerney (GBR)1940 Ford V8 Coupe (V)3622
19Chris Evans (GBR)Sophie Evans (GBR)1970 Fiat Moretti 850 (C)982
20Johannes Lips (BEL)Julian Griffiths (GBR)1952 Mercedes-Benz 220 B (C)2195
21Bill Bolsover (GBR)Biddy Bolsover (GBR)1953 Jaguar XK120 (C)3440
22Phillip Haslam (GBR)Yvonne Haslam (GBR)1954 Jaguar XK120 DHC (C)3449
23Keith Ashworth (GBR)Norah Ashworth (GBR)1955 Jaguar XK140 FHC (C)3442
24FM Claessens (NLD)Antoinette Claessens (NLD)1956 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud I (C)7428
25Rob van Ravensteijn (NLD)Willem Vermeulen (NLD) / Ellen Vermeulen (NLD)1956 Jaguar XK140 (C)3442
26Ries Oostlander (NLD)Lenie Oostlander (NLD)1957 Mercedes-Benz 220 S (C)2200
27David Harrison (GBR)Julia Harrison (GBR)1958 Porsche 356A (C)1600
28Chris Krzak (GBR)Carol Krzak (GBR)1960 Jaguar XK150 (C)3850
29Marco Halter (CHE)Claudia Engelhardt (DEU)1963 Ford Falcon (C)4950
30Mauro Faldini (ITA)Anna Faldini (ITA)2017 Nissan X-Trail (S)1997
31David Cohen (CAN)Adele Cohen (CAN)1965 Porsche 356 (C)1600
32Hans-Ulrich Wartenweiler (CHE)Ursula Berger (CHE)1965 Volvo 122 (C)1780
33Shaun Dixon (GBR)Eleanor Dixon (GBR)1965 Mercedes-Benz 230 SL (C)2306
34Gerald Crown (AUS)Matt Bryson (AUS)1974 Leyland P76 (C)4400
35Jan van Gemert (NLD)Marion van Gemert (NLD)1965 Ford Mustang (C)4727
36Hans Middelberg (USA)Jurgen Grolman (DEU)1967 Ford Mustang Convertible (C)4727
37Alastair Caldwell (GBR)Laurel Smith (USA)1968 Porsche 912 (C)1972
38Philip Macwhirter (AUS)Laurette Macwhirter (AUS)1969 Morgan Plus 8 (C)3525
39Dean Golding (GBR)Kendal Golding (GBR)1969 Rolls-Royce Corniche (C)6250
40Colin Winkelman (USA)Luca Fiore (ITA) / Adam Karger (USA) / Lexton Moy (USA) 1971 Datsun 240Z (C)2343
41Roger Allen (AUS)Maggie Gray (AUS)1971 BMW 2800CS (C)2788
42LLoyd Reddington (CAN)Treacy Reddington (CAN)1971 Morgan Plus 8 (C)3525
43Nicholas Pryor (GBR)Lesley Stockwell (GBR)1972 Mercedes-Benz 350 SL (C)3499
44Frank Bird (AUS)Jason Bird (AUS) / Maurie Smith (AUS)1972 Jensen Interceptor (C)7196
45Alan Pontin (GBR)Carol Pontin (GBR)1973 Jaguar E-Type V12 (C)5344
46Marco Fila (ITA)Stephanie Gout (MEX)1976 Bentley Corniche (C)6750
47Philip Garratt (GBR)Kieron Brown (GBR)1977 Triumph Stag (C)2997
48Gerd Buhler (DEU)Birgit Deymann-Buhler (DEU)1979 Mercedes-Benz 450 SLC (C)4520
49Jan Tonnby (CHE/SWE)Ingela Tonnby (CHE/SWE)1982 Mercedes-Benz 500 SL (C)4973
50Jonathon Lyons (GBR)Leandro Albuquerque (BRA)1983 Mercedes-Benz 500 SL (C)4973
51Norman Yung (GBR)Liza Yung (GBR)1999 Bentley Continental (S)6750
52Fritz Kozka (DEU)Gabriele Jaeger-Kozka (DEU)2017 Nissan X-Trail (S)1997
53Giorgio Cumin (ITA)Carla Bonassi (ITA)2017 Nissan Skyline 350GT (S)3498
54Klaus Konopizky (AUT)Barbara Konopizky (DEU)2017 Nissan X-Trail Hybrid (S)1997

Rally Round Samurai Challenge Start

Flagged away – the 1925 Chrysler B-70 Phaeton of Cornelis Willemse and Ingeborg Van t’Hof leaves the Samurai Challenge start line in Fukuoka